About Us

Together we promote better education and transparency about psychedelic substances and their use
Maja

Co-founder & Managing Director

"The use of psychedelics in a therapeutic setting is the foundation of tomorrow's mental health. People deserve to be educated about this potential."

Konstantin

Co-founder & Managing Director

"With MODERNMIND's products I have found access to my true self and my passion. I am now grateful to accompany many other souls on their very personal path of potential development."

Manuel

Psychologist

"A deep interest in human existence soon led me to intensive work with entheogens and eventually to spiritual practice during my academic training. Besides amazing explorations of consciousness, it was also the lasting healing effects and the enormous potential for growth which impressed me significantly."

Nils

Operations Manager

"In my opinion the pioneering work we are doing with MODERNMIND is enormously important because psychedelics used correctly, as studies have already shown, can be the way out of depression, anxiety, traumatic stress disorders and uncontrolled addictive behaviour into a new, high-quality life for many people."

Manuel

Psychologist

"A deep interest in human existence soon led me to intensive work with entheogens during my academic training and finally to spiritual practice. Besides amazing explorations of consciousness, it were also the lasting healing effects and the enormous potential for growth and unfoldment that impressed me significantly."

Ole

Educator & spiritual coach

"After studying philosophy, I came to shamanism through unusual states of consciousness and out-of-body experiences. Through self-study of various shamanic traditions and participation in several ceremonies I was able to deepen my knowledge. My concern is to help people get back in touch with their inner child."

Our founding story

The founding story of MODERNMIND The founding story of MODERNMIND begins with two different stories that connect different aspects: The pressure to perform in an industrialised country and the demand to fit into the ideal image of this society. The two founders Konstantin Neumann, 25, who studied food science and biotechnology, and Maja Theresa Balz, 29, who has a degree in business administration, were already able to see how healing alternative substances can be during their own first contact with psychedelics.

Konstantin, who founded his first start-up, Wisefood, at the age of 19 while still studying at the University of Hohenheim, gained early insights into the responsible world of entrepreneurship. He was able to gather many challenging and instructive moments during his time as managing director of Wisefood GmbH. The mission was to reduce widespread plastic waste and create a sustainable impact. Wisefood is the world's first manufacturer of edible drinking straws made from apple scraps, which are available in over 30 countries. Konstantin proved himself in several TV appearances such as on "Die Höhle Der Löwen", "Galileo" and became first place at the Baden-Württemberg Startup Elevator Pitch, the Future Sax Innovation Award and the European award for the most innovative food startup (EIT Fan Accelarator). At his young age, he already had to carry a lot of personnel and budget responsibility. After 3 years filled with close to 100 working hours/week, which can be quite typical in the startup founding scene, he realised he was approaching burnout and hardly had any drive to go to the office anymore. At a psychedelic ceremony in the Netherlands, he was able to take a breath for the first time and penetrate the depths of his consciousness to realise that he had to start a new chapter in life in order to maintain his inner happiness and escape burnout. He then sold his shares in the company and spent a long time travelling in Asia, where he was again confronted with the healing power of psychoactive substances such as LSD. 

 

The motivation of his partner and MODERNMIND co-founder Maja is one that probably appeals to many women in particular. After her studies, she dared to take the step of founding her own company in the real estate industry. As managing director of Realvest Estate GmbH, she buys properties in southern Germany that are in need of development in order to modernise them and provide the market with contemporary living space. In this male-dominated industry, it takes a lot of self-confidence. Building this was a big challenge, especially in her youth. Maja grew up in a very loving and protective home. However, when she was at school, she was teased by her classmates because she was overweight. The feeling that she was not accepted by society because of her appearance or that she was not "enough" drove her into an eating disorder at the age of 13. This was only overcome through years of her own intensive reappraisal and therapies. This experience sensitised her and made her realise that many women feel the same way. The external pressure to conform to an ideal image, which creates complexes that prevent one from enjoying life to the fullest, as well as the present question "am I actually good enough?" Maja's first psychedelic experience, in the context of a private LSD derivative ceremony alone with her partner, gave her another access to the origin of the inner child and made her realise once more that contentment and happiness in life must be found in the depth of oneself. She was able to realise during this ceremony that she still had wounds within herself that must be worked through. 

Today, many celebrities such as Paul McCartney, Steve Jobs, Mike Tyson, Angelina Jolie and Meghan Fox talk about how psychedelics changed their lives for the better. In this context, it has also been described how it has helped some to heal wounds of the past, to find peace in life and to achieve the so-called "spiritual awakening". 

MODERNMIND stands for a modern society and an open-minded attitude towards alternative substances with healing potential. We want to make psychedelics more accessible to people in a responsible framework and to educate about the many potential benefits in terms of well-being, consciousness and self-optimisation. We are working in partnership with chemists, leading research institutes and specialist advocates to accelerate public understanding and awareness of what is still a taboo subject.

Über uns

Gemeinsam für mehr Aufklärung und Transparenz in der Anwendung pschoaktiver Substanzen
Maja

Co-founder & Geschäftsführerin

"Der Einsatz von Psychedelika in einem therapeutischen Rahmen ist das Fundamant der mentalen Gesundheit von Morgen. Menschen verdienen es über dieses Potenzial aufgeklärt zu werden."

Konstantin

Co-founder & Geschäftsführer

"Mit den Produkten von MODERNMIND habe ich Zugang zu meinem wahren Ich und meiner Leidenschaft gefunden. Ich bin dankbar nun auch viele weitere Seelen auf ihrem ganz persönlichen Weg der Potenzialentfaltung zu begleiten."

Nils

Operations Manager

"Die Pionierarbeit die wir mit MODERNMIND betreiben sehe ich als enorm wichtig an, da Psychedelika richtig eingesetzt, wie Studien bereits zeigen, für ganz viele Menschen der Weg aus Depressionen, Angstzuständen, traumatischen Belastungsstörungen und unkontrolliertem Suchtverhalten hin zu einem neuen qualitativ hochwertigem Lebensgefühl sein können."

Manuel

Psychologe

"Ein tiefes Interesse am menschlichen Dasein führte mich während meiner akademischen Ausbildung bald zu intensiver Arbeit mit Entheogenen und schließlich zur spirituellen Praxis. Neben erstaunlichen Erkundungen des Bewusstseins waren es auch die nachhaltig heilsame Wirkung und das enorme Potential für Wachstum und Entfaltung, die mich wesentlich beeindruckten."

Ole

Pädagoge & spiritueller Coach

"Nach meinem Philosophie Studium kam ich über nicht alltägliche Bewusstseinszustände und außerkörpliche Erfahrungen zum Schamanismus. Im Selbststudium verschiedener schamanischer Traditionen und Teilnahme an sämtlichen Zeremonien konnte ich mein Wissen vertiefen. Mein Anliegen ist es, Menschen dabei zu helfen wieder in Kontakt mit ihrem inneren Kind zu treten."

Die Gründungsgeschichte

Die Gründungsgeschichte von MODERNMIND beginnt mit zwei unterschiedlichen Geschichten, die verschiedenen Aspekte verbinden: Der Leistungsdruck in einem Industriestaat und der Anspruch in das Idealbild dieser Gesellschaft zu passen. Die beiden Founder Konstantin Neumann, 25, der Lebensmittelwissenschaften und Biotechnologie studiert hat und Maja Theresa Balz, 29, die ihr Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre absolviert hat, haben bereits während ihrer eigenen ersten Berührungen mit Psychedelika feststellen dürfen, wie heilsam alternative Substanzen sein können. 

Konstantin, der bereits mit 19, während seines Studiums an der Universität Hohenheim sein erstes Startup Wisefood gegründet hat, hat bereits früh Einblicke in die verantwortungsvolle Welt des Unternehmertums erhalten. Viele herausfordernde und lehrreiche Momente konnte er in der Zeit als Geschäftsführer der Wisefood GmbH sammeln. Die Mission war es, den weitweiten Plastikmüll zu reduzieren und einen nachhaltigen Impact zu schaffen. Wisefood ist der weltweit erste Hersteller essbarer Trinkhalme aus Apfelresten, die in über 30 Ländern erhältlich sind. Konstantin bewährte sich in einigen TV-Auftritten wie bei „Die Höhle Der Löwen“, „Galileo“ und erhielt unter anderem den ersten Platz bei dem Baden-Württembergischen Startup Elevator Pitch, den Future Sax Innovationspreis und die europäische Auszeichnung für das innovativstes Food-Startup (EIT-Fan-Accelarator). In seinem jungen Alter hatte er bereits eine hohe Personal- und Budgetverantwortung zu tragen. Nach 3 Jahren gefüllt von knapp 100 Arbeitsstunden/Woche, die in der Startup-Gründerszene ganz typisch sein können, hat er gemerkt, dass er sich einem Burnout nähert und kaum mehr Drive hat ins Büro zu gehen. Auf einer Psychedelika-Zeremonie in den Niederlanden, hat er erstmals durchatmen können und in die Tiefe seines Bewusstseins eindringen können, um zu merken, dass er einen neuen Abschnitt im Leben beginnen muss, um sein inneres Glück zu wahren und dem Burnout zu entkommen. Er hat daraufhin seine Unternehmensanteile verkauft und war lange Zeit im asiatischen Raum reisen, wo er erneut mit der Heilkraft psychoaktiver Substanzen wie LSD konfrontiert wurde. 

 

Die Motivation seiner Partnerin und MODERNMIND-Mitgründerin Maja ist eine, die vermutlich vor allem viele Frauen anspricht. Sie hat nach ihrem Studium den Schritt gewagt, ein eigenes Unternehmen in der Immobilienbranche zu gründen. Als Geschäftsführerin der Realvest Estate GmbH kauft sie entwicklungsbedürftige Immobilien in Süddeutschland, um sie zu modernisieren und dem Markt zeitgemäßen Wohnraum zur Verfügung zu stellen. In dieser männerdominierten Branche bedarf es viel Selbstbewusstsein. Dieses aufzubauen war vor allem in ihrer Jugend eine große Herausforderung. Maja wuchs in einem sehr liebevollen und behutsamen Elternhaus auf. Jedoch wurde sie in ihrer Schulzeit auf Grund ihres damaligen Übergewichts von ihren Mitschülern stark gehänselt. Das Gefühl auf Grund von Äußerlichkeiten von der Gesellschaft nicht akzeptiert zu werden oder nicht „genug“ zu sein, hat sie im Alter von 13 Jahren in eine Essstörung getrieben. Diese konnte nur durch jahrelange eigene, intensive Aufarbeitung und Therapien bewältigt werden. Diese Erfahrung sensibilisierte sie und ließ sie erkennen, dass es vielen Frauen ähnlich ging. Der äußere Druck einem Idealbild zu entsprechen, durch welchen Komplexe entstanden, die einen daran hindern, sein Leben in vollem Umfang zu genießen, da immer die Frage im Hinterkopf schwamm „bin ich eigentlich gut genug?“. Maja’s erste psychedelische Erfahrung, im Rahmen einer privaten LSD-Derivat-Zeremonie alleine mit ihrem Partner, hat ihr #einen weiteren Zugang zum Ursprung des inneren Kinds gegeben und sie noch einmal mehr erkennen lassen, dass Zufriedenheit und das Glück im Leben den Urspruch in der Tiefe seiner selbst gefunden werden muss. Sie konnte während dieser Zeremonie feststellen, dass sie immer noch Wunden in sich trug, die aufgearbeitet werden konnten. 

Heute sprechen bereits viele Prominente wie auch Paul McCartney, Steve Jobs, Mike Tyson; Angelina Jolie und Meghan Fox darüber, wie Psychedelika ihr Leben zum positiven veränderte. In diesem Zusammenhang wurde auch geschildet, wie es einigen dabei geholfen hat Wunden der Vergangenheit zu heilen, Ruhe im Leben zu finden und das sogenannte „spirituelle Erwachen“ (eng. Spiritual Awakening) zu erlangen. 

MODERNMIND steht für die moderne Gesellschaft und eine weltoffene Haltung bezüglich alternativer Substanzen mit Heilungspotenzial. Wir möchten Psychedelika in einem verantwortungsvollen Rahmen für Menschen zugänglicher machen und über die vielen potenziellen Vorteile in Bezug auf das Well-Being, das Bewusstsein und die Selbstoptimierung aufklären. Dabei arbeiten wir in Begleitung mit Chemikern, führenden Forschungsinstituten und spezialisierten Anwälten, um schneller aus dem Noch-Tabu-Thema ein öffentliches Verständnis und Bewusstsein zu erschaffen.